top of page

The Kee to Coaching: First Year as a Head Coach

Good evening!

It’s been a really long time since I’ve last posted, but things have been absolutely insane since April. Since my last post, I transitioned into a new role at Keuka, which had me slated to be the head men’s and women’s golf coach & the assistant men’s and women’s basketball coach. If that wasn’t enough responsibility, I had also signed up to teach a first year experience course for freshmen. Most of my summer was spent in my car, traveling around the east coast . I worked a couple of camps and did some recruiting for the men’s and women’s basketball programs. I also moved to a new apartment in Geneva, New York and spent some time at the golf course improving my swing!

While balancing my July recruiting, I also had the great opportunity to sit down with a search committee and had my first head-coaching interview. The interview process included, an initial phone screening and two separate on campus interviews. After reaching out to a bunch of mentors, I was able to put together my head coaching portfolio and prepare for my interview. I was fortunate enough to have received the offer, and I am now the Head Men’s Basketball Coach at The Apprentice School in Newport News, Virginia! This is truly a dream come true, and something that I have been working towards for a long time. Not many people ever get the opportunity to become a head coach at the college level, and I am very fortunate to have been given this opportunity at 26 years old.

Since I officially started, life has been moving fast! I had to find a new apartment and move down to Virginia. I started working Monday, and I couldn’t be happier with my decision. I’ve thought long and hard about what my program would look like, and I am getting the opportunity to carry out my vision. I am currently in the process of putting together a great coaching staff, and we have already hit the ground running, trying to find players for this coming season. Our players here all work a full-time job in the shipyard, in addition to taking classes and playing basketball. Tuition here is free and it is a very unique opportunity. I look forward to keeping everybody posted on all that is happening in year one. I am forever grateful for the opportunity to be the head coach for The Apprentice School Builders!


Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page