top of page

The Kee to Coaching: My First 3 Weeks

Happy Friday!!

I have officially completed my third week as the head men’s basketball coach at the Apprentice School, and each day has been extremely busy and productive! I truly appreciate the opportunity and I am excited to come to work here each day. We have great young adults in our program and I am ecstatic to get the opportunity to interact with them everyday. The Apprentice School has a rich tradition in athletics, and I look to build on that tradition and get our program back to being a championship-level team.

People always told me how much work there is to get done each day as a head coach, and I now fully believe them. Since arriving on campus on August 14th, I have truly hit the ground running. My first day on the job, my first priority was to reach out to members of the team and to get them set on a program with our strength and conditioning coach. We had six players on the roster when I first got here, and we are in the process of getting up to twelve. I’ve been fortunate enough to find great assistant coaches, who have strong local connections with the area and with the school. My lead-assistant, Tim Sparks, has been instrumental in getting us involved with a number of high-level prospects, and I look forward to getting them enrolled and being Builder Basketball Players. I was always told to surround myself with great people and that was my main objective with my first staff. Through the interview process, I wanted to make sure that I was bringing in high character individuals, who fit the school’s mission and were aligned with my vision. I’ve found that with my first two hires, and I’m looking forward to getting to work with them.

These first three weeks have been tremendous and I am so fortunate to be living my dream everyday. We were able launch a recruiting database, take full inventory of equipment and identify items that are needed, and we were able to find high-quality opponents to complete our schedule. This schedule will really challenge us this first season, but we are excited for the opportunity to compete against such high-level programs! We have begun laying down the foundation for what our program is going to be about, and we are building lasting relationships with our players and with the Apprentice School staff. I can’t wait to see what the next three weeks have in store for us!


Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page